Advice to Writers?

This is a response to a fairly strong calling out of games writing the other day on bitmob. I like it. I’m sharing here.

The original post is here.
A follow-up post is here.

Gamerly Musings

This is an incredibly sad thing to read: an aspiring writer is forced to reconsider their passion as a career. Though perhaps what is more sad is how often it happens without any blog post to mark the occasion. Having questioned the viability of writing as a career choice more times than I can count over the past 2 years (heck, I think just yesterday was the last time I did so), I feel for him. And considering the caliber of the average “help for aspiring writers” advice being offered, I feel for him even more.

This is difficult, because I want more than anything to respond to his piece, but I fear that any attempt to do so will be seen as arrogant, condescending, mean-spirited, and just downright rude. But he raises some interesting issues that I would at the very least like to provide a second perspective to. I have…

View original post 1,244 more words

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

